Dr. A.O Asekhauno (Ag. HOD Philosophy)

The B.A. Philosophy Programme came into existence as a Unit under the department of History and International Studies in 1995; together with Religions, it became a separate department in October 2006; and it autonomous department from the 2016/2017 academic Session. The post-graduate (P-G) programme (M.Phil; M.A; and Ph.D.) takes off in the 2017/2018 academic Session.

The Philosophy of the Programme

The philosophy of this programme is to strive to promote academic and research excellence in philosophical enterprise in the University by extending knowledge and educational services through innovative research in both classical and contemporary philosophy; to provide sustainable rational praxis through accelerated academic and research activities; to be an internationally recognized platform where students can acquire the best of higher education with rich moral rectitude and necessary for nation building.

The Aims and Objectives of the Programme

The aims and objectives of the department are, amongst others: To equip philosophy with the necessary philosophical skill through a detailed exposure to its theoretical/inner logic, including its universal emergence, development and relevance. The programme will offer courses designed to help students develop their own capacity to reflect intelligently on questions of fundamental and lasting significance focusing on the ideas of some of the world’s leading philosophers as well as on an empirical understanding of their own society. Special efforts will be made to explore and incorporate African philosophical ideas in various ramification of thought.

Admission Requirements for the Four-year Degree in   Philosophy

Candidates seeking admission into the four-year degree programme should possess any of the following qualification:

At least five Ordinary Level Credit Passes in WASC (WAEC), SSCE/GCE, NECO, SSCE or at least five merit-level passes in the teacher grade II (TC II) examinations. The subjects should include English Language and any two other subjects from the Arts or the Social Sciences, at not more than two sittings. A pass in Mathematics is a minimum requirement.

UTME subjects are:

  1. Use of English
  2. Any three other subjects in Arts (Government, Lit. in English, CRK/IRS, History, Commerce/Economics).    

Research Activities in the Department

While all the students and other members of the Department are engaged in research activities in all aspects of philosophy, the B.A. degree in philosophy will be based on the following courses to be taught during the 4 years.